US launches 4 airstrikes against Iraqi militants in third round

Share:
hornet Us aircraft carrier
The first air strike came from a Hornet, which was launched from a US aircraft carrier in the Gulf

The U.S. military says American jet fighters and drones have conducted four more airstrikes on Islamic militants in Iraq, taking out armored carriers and a truck that were firing on civilians.

U.S. Central Command says the Islamic State militants were firing on Yazidi civilians taking shelter in the Sinjar mountains. In a statement, the military says the militants were firing on civilians indiscriminately.

Central Command says the strikes near Sinjar were spread out, with three before noon EDT on Saturday (before 1600 GMT) and one about 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT).

The military says indications suggest that the strikes were successful in destroying the armored vehicles.

This is the third round of airstrikes against Islamic State forces by the U.S. military since they were authorized by President Barack Obama.

Yahoo/AP

Share:

Comments

3 responses to “US launches 4 airstrikes against Iraqi militants in third round”

  1. The real lebanese Avatar
    The real lebanese

    Wheres Barabie to denounce the US?

  2. sweetvirgo Avatar
    sweetvirgo

    I hope they kill all of the isis

    1. 5thDrawer Avatar
      5thDrawer

      Yasidis: 500 killed in one place.
      “Some of the victims, including women and children were buried alive in scattered mass graves in and around Sinjar,” Sudani said.
      “In some of the images we have obtained there are lines of dead Yazidis who have been shot in the head while the Islamic State fighters cheer and wave their weapons over the corpses,” said Sudani. “This is a vicious atrocity.”

Leave a Reply